Marketing Dead Pets and Boxes

ByeByePet is a simple idea: go online and share memories of your pet after they pass away. Sounds ok right? How about the part where they market a box?

My wife sent me this video almost a year ago. It’s been sitting in my Inbox since then because I didn’t really know how to share it. My first thoughts were that it was a clever way to sell a white box and that it was also incredibly manipulative of people’s raw emotions. I waited for my views to change, but they haven’t except to say that I don’t think it’s that clever anymore. What do you think?

One thought on “Marketing Dead Pets and Boxes

  1. I think talking about death is always somewhat awkward and odd, and marketing products that are targeting the deceased’s loved ones is even more awkward. I wouldn’t call this either clever or manipulative. It might appeal to some. I like the idea of the kids getting involved and having closure. I might do something like this for my kids if we lost a pet. I would be more inclined to put memories in it rather than the actual pet. I don’t have a problem with the product, but I’m not a fan of the name “bye bye pet” at all. It’s a bit too light-hearted, in my opinion. The video is strange. “Awkward,” is the word that keeps coming to mind.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

