Daily Posting

I don’t know how everyone else does it but daily posting can become an exercise in putting something up on the blog rather than writing anything thoughtful.

At any one time I have 10-15 headlines and outlines for blog entries. Some days I’ll write up a few and other days it’s like pulling teeth. You may notice the tougher days when you see my weaker posts – a few sentences and a video. The days I actually connect with my work I draft much longer pieces. Today however is not one of those days. There’s no video but you can be sure that I really wasn’t that into it.

I’ll keep plugging away though. Even on days that I don’t want to post I still may stumble across an idea that will feed a future piece. The main obstacle for me is getting away from writing articles and just sharing some thoughts.

How do you write a post when you don’t want to spend any time on it? Do you just post up a few sentences? Do you feel that everything has to read like an article?

3 thoughts on “Daily Posting

  1. I, too, have loads of draft posts but some days I am either spent from article writing for clients and don’t have any words left. Also, I really struggle to say “well, that’ll do”. I always want to write something… not exceptional, but at least something helpful. Those are the days I re-blog. In saying that, though, I don’t post every day! I have a two-year-old, that’s my excuse 🙂

    • Thanks for making me feel sane Jane:) Yeah, some days everything else just wipes me out. I have yet to try re-blogging. Might be a next step. I always thought that once I land a new job I won’t have time for a daily blog anyways. That was over 260 days ago though…

  2. There’s something to be said for posting every day, but I agree that it can be hard to post something that feels like your most meaningful, worthwhile work on a daily basis. Have you seen this article on “slow blogging”? http://www.designformankind.com/2012/12/the-rebirth-of-slow-blogging-and-a-new-direction/

    Erin writes about cutting back on the frequency of her posts in order to return to her original feelings of inspiration and producing only the most thoughtful content. I love this idea but always enjoy having a daily read from my favorite blogs. Maybe there’s a compromise to be struck? I like Jane’s idea of re-blogging or maybe doing a link roundup of the most interesting things you’ve read once a week.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

