Winnie the Pooh on…Startups

Think Think ThinkWinnie the Pooh and his friends had wonderful opinions about the world around them but who knew they shared such insight into the culture of startups. Here are some of their thoughts as penned by A. A. Milne:

On Market Research
“Before beginning a Hunt, it is wise to ask someone what you are looking for before you begin looking for it.”

On Taking the Plunge
“I always did whatever I liked,” she said, “but now I really can do it.”

On Team Building
“Organization is what you do before you do something, so that when you do it, it’s not all mixed up.”

On Funding
“The more – the merrier.”

On Product Management
“I don’t see much sense in that,” said Rabbit.
“No,” said Pooh humbly, “there isn’t. But there was going to be when I began it. It’s just that something happened to it along the way.”

On Product Evolution
“Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.”

On Brand Identity
“I’m definitely an Eeyore.”

On Believing Your Hype
“Owl,” said Rabbit shortly, “you and I have brains. The others have fluff. If there is easy thinking to be done in this Forest – and when I say thinking I mean thinking – you and I must do it.”

On Criticism
“People who don’t Think probably don’t have Brains; rather, they have grey fluff that’s blown into their heads by mistake.”

On IPOs
“I used to believe in forever, but forever is too good to be true.”

More On IPOs
“Tut, Tut, looks like rain”

Further reading:
Winnie the Pooh on…Social Media
More Winnie the Pooh on…Social Media
Calvin and Hobbes on…Crisis Communications

2 thoughts on “Winnie the Pooh on…Startups

  1. This generated some much needed light relief on a day in the UK spent under dark, ominous clouds with torrential rain and flood warnings. I will be using the one about product management in connection with some projects I’m working on………

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

