Writer’s Block: 5 (more) Tips on…Writing from Writers

As communications professionals we write each and every day. Whether it is a press release, an Op/Ed, a letter to the editor, a proposal, a blog post, or a tweet, the writing process can occasionally become stale.

When the writing blahs strike I like to look to authors for sage advice. Today was such a day. When I sat down at my desk this afternoon to write my daily post I did not feel particularly motivated. I decided to search for some inspiration and came across some genuine nuggets of wisdom for overcoming early onset writer’s block.

As a follow up to my original post “5 Tips on…Writing from Writers” I present 5 more tips on writing from writers:

Go Outside
“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” ― Benjamin Franklin

Put Pen To Paper (or finger to keyboard/touch screen or quill to parchment or whatever)
“I have never started a poem yet whose end I knew. Writing a poem is discovering.” ― Robert Frost

Make Your Own Rules
“There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.” ― W. Somerset Maugham

Keep At It
“You fail only if you stop writing.” ― Ray Bradbury

Finally, the advice that I took:

“…writing about a writer’s block is better than not writing at all…”
Charles Bukowski

How do you overcome writer’s block?

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block: 5 (more) Tips on…Writing from Writers

  1. I give myself permission to write something-not-so-good. Usually halfway through my desired word count I think of a much better idea. Or if it a terribly off day, I set it aside for tomorrow’s salvage opportunity.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

