A Facebook Couch Potato Confesses

Facebook hit 1,000,000,000 users this week. The social media giant may prefer a significant boost in the value of its stock but this milestone makes for nice headlines. I would rather read articles celebrating less missteps by the company.

So what about that number? As we know, it’s inflated due to inactive users and paraded around as little more than a gauge of popularity, like adding everyone you meet to your LinkedIn account. After all, I have two Facebook accounts and I never post to either. I use one account to register on other sites and post comments. My second account only exists so that I have an “anonymous” face to use when running a nonprofit’s Facebook page on the back-end. I prefer Twitter for personal use. I hope that Facebook does not make me consolidate my accounts or personally use their service…it may hurt their numbers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

