More Than Fashion

In just a few days the de Young Museum will bid adieu to The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk. Ms. Kluender and I had the pleasure of experiencing this exhibit and believe me when I say that you will leave overwhelmed and exhausted.

The extensiveness of Gaultier’s pieces on display gives the viewer a sense of his genius mind. You never tire walking from room to room however we were both surprised that the collection kept going and apparently grew in size from one room to the next.

While my appreciation of fashion started late in life having watched Pret-a-Porter a few times when it was released (mainly for the model with the shaved head and tattoos – it was a confusing period in my life) and signing up to be one of three males at an entry level fashion class of several hundred female students at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst (it was all about the fashion I swear), I understood completely that Gaultier’s creativity was on another level.

I urge you to see it if you have any interest in art. If you cannot attend you can always check out a few photos that I took on my camera phone or watch the video below.

Did you go? What did you think?

The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk at the de Young Museum from Mia Nakano on Vimeo.

One thought on “More Than Fashion

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

